Applies to builds 6.4138, 171215 and later:


Check your CAL (client access license)availability: You will need one available license in your Devices list, if you are moving the host to a computer that is not in the existing list.

  •  go to Preferences > Licensing > Overview and note the quantity of client access license. This is the total number that you have purchased for this database
  • go to Preferences > Licensing > Devices and see how many line items are filled. This indicates how many client computers are using a CAL. 
    • If the number of entered computers is less than than the number of CAL licenses purchased for this database select the section below 'Moving the Host when there is an Available CAL',
    • If the number of computers listed is equal to the number of CAL purchased, AND you are moving your database to a new client computer that is NOT currently listed, you'll need to free up a license. Select the section below 'Moving the Host when all CAL are in Use' 
    • If you're moving your Crate Pro database to one of the existing computer listed in the Device list select 'Swapping the Host computer with an existing client'



Always make a backup copy of your three Crate Pro files before making any host changes.


Moving the Host when there IS an available CAL:

  • Install FileMaker Pro on the new host using your current FileMaker Pro key. Installing FileMaker Pro (Use if you forgot your settings)
  • Close Crate Pro AND FileMaker on the old Host computer.
  • Copy the three working Crate Pro files onto a new working folder on the new Host. You will need your current Crate Pro activation key file to paste in the license information. 
  • Start FileMaker Pro and Crate Pro on the new Host. Go to Preferences > Licensing > Devices and click on DELETE to the right of the old Host computer line item and any other computers that will no longer be used to access Crate Pro. This releases the CAL for use on another computer. 
  • Delete ALL Crate Pro files and uninstall FileMaker Pro from the old Host or you may have a license conflict and could accidentally open the old database file. 
  • Create a new clearly marked BACKUP folder on the new Host or to a chosen location on your network. 
  • On your other clients delete the shortcuts to the old host by opening FileMaker Pro on each client and click on File > Open Recent > Clear Recent Files. Then in the Launch Window click on BROWSE at the bottom left of window and browse to the new Host computer. This will create a new shortcut.



Moving the Host when all CAL are in use: 


  • You'll need to clear one client in your Device table so a CAL is available for a new Host computer.On your old Host go to Preferences > Licensing > Devices and click on DELETE to the right of any computer that is NOT your current Host to free up a connection for the new Host. You can add it back in later.
    • If the old Host is not longer available you will  have to put a copy of the three Crate Pro files to an already listed client and using your activation key and license it to be a Host. Once done, go to Preferences > Licensing > Devices and delete the old host line item.
  • Install FileMaker Pro on the new host using your current FileMaker Pro key  Installing FileMaker Pro (Use if you forgot your settings)
  • Save a copy of the three working Crate Pro files into a working folder on the new Host.  Start Crate Pro and enter your current Crate Pro activation key file
  • Delete ALL Crate Pro files from the old Host. 
    • If the old Host will remain a client computer, keep FileMaker Pro installed. If not, delete FileMaker Pro to avoid license conflicts.  (If any other computers hold BACKUP copies, make certain the folder very clearly is marked BACKUP)
    • If the old host is to be removed from Crate Pro access, login to Crate Pro on the new host, go to Preferences > Licensing > Devices and permanently delete the old host by clicking on the red X at the end of the line 
  • Remove the shortcuts to the old host from your clients.   Open FileMaker Pro on each client and click on File > Open Recent > Clear Recent Files. Then in the Launch Window click on BROWSE at the bottom left of window and browse to the new Host computer. This will create a new shortcut.


Swapping the Host with another computer already listed as a Client:

  • Save a copy of the three working Crate Pro files onto a  folder marked Crate Pro Working on the new Host.  Start Crate Pro and enter your current Crate Pro activation key file
  • Delete ALL Crate Pro files from the old Host (If other computers hold BACKUP copies, make certain the folder very clearly is marked BACKUP). 
  • If the old Host computer will remain as a client, removing all Crate Pro files and changing the shortcut to the new host is all that's necessary
  • Remove the shortcuts to the old host from your clients.   Open FileMaker Pro on each client and click on File > Open Recent > Clear Recent Files. Then in the Launch Window click on BROWSE at the bottom left of window and browse to the new Host computer. This will create a new shortcut.